Esma elects new board members

Chairmans roomThe European Securities and Markets Authority (Esma) has elected new members to its management board who will replace outgoing members whose terms will expire next month.

Cyril Roux from the Central Bank of Ireland and Marek Szuszkiewicz from Komisja Nadzoru Finanswego in Poland both joined as new members while Gérard Rameix from the Autorité des marchés financiers in France was reelected.

The outgoing members are Jean Guill from the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier of Luxembourg and Julie Galbo of Denmark's Finanstilsynet.

The management board, chaired by Steven Maijoor, chair of Esma, is responsible for ensuring that the body carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it under the regulation.

The other board members are Kostas Botopoulos of the Hellenic Capital Markets Commission in Greece, Klaus Kumpfmüller from the Finanzmarktaufsicht in Austria, and Martin Wheatley of the Financial Conduct Authority in the UK.

©2014 funds europe